Marlins’ Fernandez Wins NL Rookie of Year Award Over Yasiel Puig

Miami Marlins pitcher Jose Fernandez was voted the National League Rookie of the Year over Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig after both Cuban players had breakout debut seasons in Major League Baseball.

St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Shelby Miller was the third NL rookie finalist in voting conducted by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Tampa Bay outfielder Wil Myers was selected as the American League’s top rookie, becoming the third Rays player in the last six seasons to win the award. Myers finished ahead of Rays pitcher Chris Archer and Detroit Tigers shortstop Jose Iglesias.

The rest of MLB’s top honors -- Most Valuable Player, Manager of the Year and the Cy Young Award given to pitchers -- will be announced later this week.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Rob Gloster at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.