Tottenham Plays Anzhi in Europa League as Swansea Faces Valencia

Tottenham will take on Russian club Anzhi Makhachkala in the group stage of soccer’s Europa League, while Swansea meets former champion Valencia.

The draw for the 12 four-team groups in Europe’s second-tier club competition was held today in Monaco with two-time winner Tottenham and Anzhi placed in Group K with Sheriff Tiraspol of Moldova and Tromso of Norway.

Tromso was reinstated into the tournament by European governing body UEFA before the draw, a day after being eliminated in a playoff against Besiktas. The Turkish team was excluded when its appeal against a match-fixing ban was rejected by the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Swansea and 2004 champion Valencia will play in Group A with Kuban Krasnodar of Russia and Swiss club St. Gallen. Wigan was drawn in Group D with Russia’s Rubin Kazan, Maribor of Slovenia and Zulte Waregem of Belgium.

Group-play runs from Sept. 19 to Dec. 12 with the top two from each group advancing, where they’ll be joined by the third-place teams from the Champions League groups. The final is on May 14 at Juventus Stadium in Turin, Italy.

     GROUP A                       GROUP B
     Valencia                      PSV Eindhoven
     Swansea                       Dinamo Zagreb
     Kuban Krasnodar               Chornomorets Odesa
     St. Gallen                    Ludogorets

     GROUP C                       GROUP D
     Standard Liege                Rubin Kazan
     Salzburg                      Wigan
     Elfsborg                      Maribor
     Esbjerg                       Zulte Waregem

     GROUP E                       GROUP F
     Fiorentina                    Bordeaux
     Dnipro                        APOEL
     Pacos Ferreira                Frankfurt
     Pandurii                      Maccabi Tel-Aviv

     GROUP G                       GROUP H
     Dynamo Kiev                   Sevilla
     Genk                          Freiburg
     Rapid Vienna                  Estoril
     Thun                          Liberec

     GROUP I                       GROUP J
     Lyon                          Lazio
     Real Betis                    Tranzonspor
     Vitoria Guimaraes             Legia Warsaw
     Rijeka                        Apollon

     GROUP K                       GROUP L
     Tottenham                     AZ Alkmaar
     Anzhi Makhachkala             PAOK
     Sheriff Tiraspol              Maccabi Haifa
     Tromso                        Shakter Karagandy

To contact the reporter on this story: Bob Bensch in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.