Bopara Joins Bresnan in Return to England One-Day Cricket Squad

Ravi Bopara and Tim Bresnan were returned to the England cricket squad for the one-day series against New Zealand and next month’s ICC Champions Trophy.

Captain Alastair Cook will head a side that defeated New Zealand 2-1 in February. Six members of the squad -- Bopara, Bresnan, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Eoin Morgan and Graeme Swann -- were involved in the last International Cricket Council Champions Trophy in 2009 in South Africa.

“The three-match series against New Zealand will be very challenging and we will need to play some very good cricket if we are to repeat the success we had against them,” Geoff Miller, the national selector, said today in a statement. “The ICC Champions Trophy provides this England squad with a great opportunity to win an global 50-over event, something we have yet to achieve, and we are excited to be playing on home soil.”

England takes on New Zealand in a three-match one-day series starting May 31 at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London. The team’s ICC matches begin June 8 at Edgbaston, where it takes on Australia.

England Squad
Alastair Cook (Essex, captain)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

To contact the reporter on this story: Christopher Elser in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser in London at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.