Big Ten Approves Football Alignments, Conference Schedule

The Big Ten Conference approved the creation of East and West divisions from 2014 with a nine-game league schedule for football from 2016.

The East will comprise Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers. Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin will compete in the West.

From 2016, the schedule will include one more conference game, taking to three the number of matchups each school will play against teams in the other division. Indiana and Purdue will play each other every year, the conference said in a statement on its website today.

“Big Ten directors of athletics concluded four months of study and deliberation with unanimous approval of a future football structure that preserved rivalries,” Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany said in the league’s statement. “We’re all looking forward to ushering in this new era of Big Ten football.”

To contact the reporter on this story: Dex McLuskey in Dallas at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.