Openers Guide Australia to 109-0 as Third Cricket Test Starts

David Warner hit an unbeaten half- century as Australia reached 109 without loss against India as the third cricket Test in Mohali got under way after rain wiped out day one.

Warner was 54 not out at lunch on day two with fellow opener Ed Cowan on 43 as the touring team scored at three runs an over in the extended morning session after captain Michael Clarke won the toss.

Trailing 2-0 in the four-match series, Australia made four changes with Brad Haddin, Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Starc coming in for Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell and James Pattinson, respectively.

Australia only had 12 players available for selection after Watson, Pattinson, Usman Khawaja and Mitchell Johnson were suspended for failing to submit feedback on how they and the team could improve. Wicketkeeper Wade was ruled out because of an ankle injury.

India, which would regain the Border-Gavaskar trophy by avoiding defeat in either of the remaining two matches, handed opening batsmen Shikhar Dhawan his Test debut in place of the dropped Virender Sehwag and picked Pragyan Ojha ahead of Harbhajan Singh.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Dan Baynes at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.