Heat Win 20th Straight NBA Game to Tie for Third-Longest Streak

The Miami Heat beat the Philadelphia 76ers 98-94 for their 20th straight win, matching the 1970-71 Milwaukee Bucks for the third-longest single-season victory streak in National Basketball Association history.

LeBron James had 27 points to lead Miami (49-14) to the win at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia. The Heat have the NBA’s best record this season.

Miami’s streak matches that of the Bucks, who were led by future Hall of Fame members Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, then known as Lew Alcindor, and Oscar Robertson. Milwaukee’s streak ended with an overtime loss to the Chicago Bulls on March 9, 1971. The Bucks went on to win their only NBA championship.

The longest winning streak in NBA history belongs to the 1971-72 Los Angeles Lakers, who won 33 straight games en route to an NBA title. Players on that team, which went 69-13 in the regular season, included future Hall of Fame members Wilt Chamberlain, Jerry West, Gail Goodrich and Elgin Baylor.

The 2007-08 Houston Rockets failed to turn their 22-game winning streak into an NBA championship. Led by Yao Ming and Tracy McGrady, the Rockets lost to the Utah Jazz in the first round of the playoffs.

The Washington Capitols, coached by Red Auerbach, won 20 straight games over two seasons in 1948.

Tonight’s win at Philadelphia began a five-game road trip for Miami, which then plays at Milwaukee, Toronto, Boston and Cleveland.

To contact the reporter on this story: Mason Levinson in New York at mlevinson@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at msillup@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.