India Routs Australia to Give Dhoni Record 22nd Test Cricket Win

India routed Australia by an innings and 135 runs to go 2-0 up in their four-match cricket series, giving Mahendra Singh Dhoni a national record 22nd elite Test victory as captain.

Resuming day four at 74-2 in Hyderabad, Australia slumped to 131 all out before lunch to become the first team in 136 years of Test cricket to lose by an innings after declaring in its first innings. Ravichandran Ashwin finished with 5-63 and fellow spin bowler Ravindra Jadeja took 3-33.

India, which is trying to rebound from a 2-1 loss to England in its last home series, would regain the Border- Gavaskar trophy by avoiding defeat in either of the remaining two matches following a 4-0 sweep in Australia in 2011-12. The third Test starts March 14 in Mohali.

“At the end of the day it’s the whole team that wins,” Dhoni, who passed the record of 21 Test wins as India captain he shared with Sourav Ganguly, said at the presentation ceremony. “It’s a collective effort and credit goes to each and every individual who’s been part of the side.”

India had led by 266 runs on the first innings by amassing 503 in reply to Australia’s 237-9 declared.

For the second straight match, Australia struggled against India’s slow bowlers, who combined to take 14 of the 19 wickets to fall. Indian spinners got all 20 in the series opener.

“We have a lot of work to do as a team in all three facets of the game,” said Australia captain Michael Clarke. “Our batters have to take a lot of the responsibility. We haven’t scored enough runs in our first innings in both Test matches, and that’s unacceptable in the best of batting conditions.”

Top Scorer

India batsman Cheteshwar Pujara took the man-of-the-match award after top scoring with 204 and sharing a 370-run stand with Murali Vijay that was an Indian record for the second wicket in elite Tests.

“It was a really important partnership,” Pujara said. “That was the important phase of our innings because it set up a big total for us.”

Australia added one run to its second-innings total today before Shane Watson was caught by Dhoni off Ishant Sharma’s bowling. Clarke, the world’s No. 2-ranked Test batsman, made 16 before Jadeja beat his defense to flatten his off stump with a turning delivery.

Jadeja then removed two batsmen within the space of six balls to reduce Australia to 111-6. The left-armer had Ed Cowan caught for 44 when the opener edged a delivery that deflected off Dhoni’s pad and into the hands of Virender Sehwag at first slip. In the next over, Jadeja ran out Moises Henriques with a direct hit as the Australians went for a quick single.

Ashwin then trapped Glenn Maxwell leg-before-wicket and Jadeja had Peter Siddle caught by Virat Kohli to leave Australia at 130-8. Ashwin then wrapped up the victory by dismissing Matthew Wade and James Pattinson, who faced 27 balls without scoring a run.

“When they’ve had momentum they’ve grabbed hold of it and run with it for as long as they possibly could,” Clarke added. “We’ve had guys get in and not make big scores and that’s unacceptable in these conditions.”

To contact the reporter on this story: Dan Baynes in Sydney at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.