Djokovic Defeats Murray for 3rd Straight Australian Open Title

Novak Djokovic defeated Andy Murray to become the first man to win three straight Australian Open tennis titles since the sport’s professional era began in 1968.

The top-seeded Djokovic, 25, from Serbia, did not lose his serve in the match and won 6-7 (2-7), 7-6 (7-3), 6-3, 6-2 against the third-seeded Briton for his fourth Australian Open title and his sixth Grand Slam championship.

Murray, 25, won the first set and was even in the second- set tiebreaker before he double faulted on the fifth point, right after he had to halt play for a few seconds as a feather floated down from the roof of Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Rob Gloster at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.