Springboks Select Five Uncapped Players for Tour; Habana Out

South Africa named five uncapped players in its squad for a rugby tour of Britain and Ireland, while winger Bryan Habana is out through injury.

Habana, South Africa’s all-time leading try-scorer, hurt his knee playing for Western Province in yesterday’s Currie Cup final victory over Natal Sharks. He joins players including Pierre Spies, Frans Steyn and Schalk Burger on the sidelines because of injury.

Wingers Lionel Mapoe and Raymond Rhule, loose forward Arno Botha, lock Franco van der Merwe and scrum-half Jano Vermaak are the new names in the squad.

The Springboks play their first Test against Ireland on Nov. 10 before matches against Scotland and England on the following Saturdays. The squad was announced on the team’s website.

South Africa squad: Alberts, Botha, Brits, Cilliers, Coetzee, De Jongh, De Villiers (capt.), Du Plessis, Etzebeth, Hougaard, Jantjies, Kirchner, Kruger, Lambie, Louw, Mapoe, Mtawarira, Mvovo, Pienaar, Pietersen, Ralepelle, Rhule, Steenkamp, Steyn, Strauss, Taute, Van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe, Vermaak, Vermeulen.

To contact the reporter on this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty in London at phegarty@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at at celser@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.