Sri Lanka Ends on 139-4 Against Pakistan in Twenty20 Semifinal

Pakistan has a victory target of 140 runs after restricting host Sri Lanka to 139-4 in their semifinal at the World Twenty20 cricket tournament in Colombo.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat. Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan started quickly, combining for 63 before Jayawardene was caught by Raza Hasan off Shahid Afridi.

Pakistan, the 2009 champion, brought in Umar Gul and Saeed Ajmal to bowl the last few overs to put pressure on the batsmen. The plan worked, keeping the Sri Lankans, who are trying for their first Twenty20 world title, off balance until the final over, which went for 16 runs.

The World Twenty20, generally held every two years, is the championship of the game’s shortest form. The winner of today’s match advances to the Oct. 7 final against the winner of tomorrow’s semifinal between West Indies and Australia.

The champions will pick up $1 million in prize money.

To contact the reporter on this story: Christopher Elser in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.