Yankees-Red Sox in 2013 Opener; Astros Join American League

The New York Yankees will host the division-rival Boston Red Sox to open their 2013 campaigns as Major League Baseball released its schedule, which includes interleague play throughout the season.

With the Houston Astros moving to the American League West next season from National League Central, baseball will have interleague play each day because there will be 15 franchises in each league.

The NL’s Cincinnati Reds host the AL’s Los Angeles Angels to open the season, during which each team will play 19 games against divisional opponents, six or seven games against non- divisional league teams and 20 games against interleague foes, MLB said on its website, releasing a preliminary full-season schedule.

The last day of the 2013 regular season is Sept. 29, when the Detroit Tigers play at the Miami Marlins and the Astros host the Yankees. The conclusion comes five days earlier than this year’s regular-season end, allowing more flexibility for a post-season schedule that beginning this year includes an additional wild-card team in each league.

The Yankees, who play 19 of their first 32 games at home, begin their season against the Red Sox at Yankee Stadium for the first time since 2005. New York is 18-11-1 in openers against Boston. The franchises tied 4-4 due to darkness in 1910.


The Los Angeles Dodgers visit the Yankees June 18-19, marking the team’s first regular-season visit to Yankee Stadium since it left the Brooklyn borough of New York in 1958. The Dodgers also host the Yankees on July 30-31.

The Yankees and Mets continue their “Subway Series” with games at Citi Field on May 27-28 and at Yankee Stadium on May 29-30. There were six games between the teams from 1999-2012.

The Mets host the San Diego Padres to open their season on April 1, ending their campaign at home against the Milwaukee Brewers. Citi Field also will host the All-Star Game on July 16.

A third edition of the World Baseball Classic will take place in March, with 28 nations competing. Japan won the first two tournaments in 2006 and 2009.

To contact the reporter on this story: Mason Levinson in New York at mlevinson@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at msillup@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.