Amla, Clarke Are Shortlisted for ICC Cricketer of the Year Award

Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander of South Africa, Australia captain Michael Clarke and Sri Lanka batsman Kumar Sangakkara were shortlisted for the International Cricket Council’s Cricketer of the Year award.

The four players also made the final cut for the Test Cricketer of the Year honor, while Sangakkara also is in contention for the one-day award alongside teammate Lasith Malinga and India’s MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli.

The players were chosen by a 32-member panel based on their performances between Aug. 4, 2011 and Aug. 6, 2012, the Dubai- based ICC said. The winners will be announced Sept. 15 in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Michael Clarke, Vernon Philander, Kumar Sangakkara.

Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Michael Clarke Vernon Philander, Kumar Sangakkara.

One-Day International Cricketer of the Year: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Lasith Malinga, Kumar Sangakkara.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Dan Baynes at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.