Poulter, Colsaerts Added to European Ryder Cup Team by Olazabal

Ian Poulter of England and Nicolas Colsaerts of Belgium were selected as the wild-card picks for Europe’s Ryder Cup.

Poulter, 36, and Colsaerts, 29, were chosen by European captain Jose Maria Olazabal, joining 10 other golfers who automatically qualified.

Europe faces the U.S. at Medinah Country Club outside Chicago on Sept. 28-30. Europe won the last edition in 2010 by one point.

Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell of Northern Ireland; Luke Donald, Lee Westwood and Justin Rose of England; Paul Lawrie of Scotland; Francesco Molinari of Italy; Sergio Garcia of Spain; Peter Hanson of Sweden; and Martin Kaymer of Germany qualified based on their ranking this season.

Poulter has competed in the Ryder Cup three times since 2004, winning eight of his 11 matches.

“He’s had a great Ryder Cup record,” Olazabal said, according to the European Tour website. “He gets the best out of himself playing the Ryder Cup.”

Colsaerts, who was playing on Europe’s second-tier Challenge Tour as recently as 2009, is the only golfer on the team who is a Ryder Cup rookie.

“He really showed me that he wants to be a part of that team,” Olazabal said.

Colsaerts missed the last automatic spot when he finished 19th yesterday at the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles in Perthshire, Scotland. He had needed a top-two finish.

Lawrie won the tournament by four shots, finishing with a 16-under-par 272.

U.S. team captain Davis Love is scheduled to announce his four wild-card picks on Sept. 4. Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson are among eight players who have already qualified.

To contact the reporters on this story: Alex Duff through the London newsroom at aduff4@bloomberg.net.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at at celser@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.