India to Play Pakistan in Cricket’s Champions Trophy Next Year

India will play arch-rival Pakistan in the group stage of cricket’s Champions Trophy in England and Wales next year.

South Africa meets India in the opening game on June 6, and defending champion Australia’s first match is against England two days later.

It’s the last time the 50-over event will be held. It features the top eight teams in the International Cricket Council one-day rankings in two groups of four. The first two in each group advance to the semifinals.

     Group A: England v Australia, June 8, Edgbaston; Sri Lanka
v New Zealand, June 9, Cardiff; Australia v New Zealand, June
12, Edgbaston; England v Sri Lanka, June 13, The Oval; England v
New Zealand, June 16, Cardiff; Sri Lanka v Australia, June 17,
The Oval.
     Group B: India v South Africa, June 6, Cardiff; West Indies
v Pakistan, June 7, The Oval; Pakistan v South Africa, June 10,
Edgbaston; India v West Indies, June 11, The Oval; West Indies v
South Africa, June 14, Cardiff; India v Pakistan, June 15,
     Semi-finals: Group A Winner v Group B runner-up, June 19,
The Oval; Group B Winner v Group A runner-up, June 20, Cardiff.
     Final: June 23, Edgbaston.

To contact the reporter on this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.