England Leaves Pietersen Out of World Twenty20 Cricket Squad

England left Kevin Pietersen out of a provisional 30-man squad for cricket’s ICC World Twenty20 competition in Sri Lanka in September.

In May, the batsman withdrew from playing in shorter forms of the game for England to focus on Tests.

He wanted to carry on with Twenty20 matches while not playing for England in 50-over games, but national selectors said that wasn’t possible under the terms of his contract.

Pietersen has expressed his interest in playing at the world event, where No. 1 ranked England is defending its title, and there’d been speculation that a compromise might be reached to allow him to take part.

Surrey off-spinner Gareth Batty, Yorkshire batsman Joe Root and Test wicketkeeper Matt Prior are among those selected.

England provisional squad:

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) (capt.), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Gareth Batty (Surrey), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Scott Borthwick (Durham), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Croft (Lancashire), Steven Davies (Surrey), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Stuart Meaker (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex).

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty at phegarty@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.