England Names Ravi Bopara in Squad for First South Africa Test

England named Ravi Bopara in a 13- man squad for the first cricket Test against South Africa, starting July 19 at the Oval in London. Jonny Bairstow was left out.

The three-game Test series will continue with matches in Leeds and London.

So far this summer, England has had 2-0 victories over the West Indies in both Test and one-day series, as well as a Twenty20 win. Then followed a 4-0 win against Australia in a one-day series.

England squad: A.J. Strauss (Middlesex, capt.), J.M. Anderson, (Lancashire), I.R. Bell (Warwickshire), R.S. Bopara (Essex), T.T. Bresnan (Yorkshire), S.C.J. Broad (Nottinghamshire), A.N. Cook (Essex), S.T. Finn (Middlesex), G. Onions (Durham), K.P. Pietersen (Surrey), M.J. Prior (Sussex), G.P. Swann (Nottinghamshire), I.J.L. Trott (Warwickshire)

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty at phegarty@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.