Breaking News

NFL’s Goodell Says He Got It Wrong on Ray Rice Investigation

Tigers’ Fielder Wins 2nd Home Run Derby Title to Join Griffey

Prince Fielder of the Detroit Tigers joined Ken Griffey Jr. as a multiple winner of Major League Baseball’s Home Run Derby.

Fielder slugged 12 homers in the final round last night to beat the Toronto Blue Jays’ Jose Bautista, who finished with seven at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City. The contest was held on the eve of tonight’s All-Star Game.

Fielder also won the Home Run Derby in 2009 as a member of the Milwaukee Brewers and last night became the first player to win the event in both leagues. Griffey won three Home Run Derby titles while with the Seattle Mariners.

Fielder totaled 16 home runs over the first two rounds to advance to the final and had the longest blasts of the contest, with two homers estimated at 476 feet each. His 12 homers in the final round tied the record set by 2011 Home Run Derby champion Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees.

Bautista and Mark Trumbo of the Los Angeles Angels each had 13 through the first two rounds, with Bautista winning a swing- off to face Fielder for the title.

Carlos Beltran of the St. Louis Cardinals had 12 homers through two rounds.

Cano became the 17th player to fail to hit a home run at the contest, joining a group that includes Griffey and Fielder’s father, Cecil, in 1990.

Also failing to get past the first round last night were Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies, Andrew McCutcheon of the Pittsburgh Pirates and Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers. Gonzalez and McCutcheon each hit four homers, while Kemp had one.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.