Nalbandian Faces No Further ATP Action Over Line-Judge Incident

The men’s tennis tour will take no further action against David Nalbandian, who was defaulted from the Aegon Championships in London a week ago after he injured a linesman when kicking an advertising board.

“After a review of the incident, the ATP determined that although David’s actions were unacceptable and under ATP rules warranted an automatic default, the injury to the linesman was unintentional,” the ATP World Tour said in a statement on its website today. “As such, it was decided that the sanctions already levied against David are sufficient in this case.”

The day after the final at Queen’s Club in west London, police said they were looking into an assault complaint made against the Argentine player by an unidentified person.

Nalbandian, a former Wimbledon finalist, was disqualified and sanctioned around $70,000 in prize money and fines, as well as being docked 150 ranking points following the incident during his match against Croatia’s Marin Cilic.

Nalbandian plays Serbia’s Janko Tipsarevic in the first round of Wimbledon tomorrow.

To contact the reporter on this story: Danielle Rossingh at the London sports desk at drossingh@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at celser@bloomberg.net.

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.