West African Economic Group Suspends Mali From Regional Bloc

The Economic Community of West African States suspended Mali from the regional bloc, following the March 22 coup that ousted Malian President Amadou Toure.

A delegation headed by Ivory Coast President and Ecowas Chairman Alassane Ouattara will head to Mali within the next 48 hours to enable a “quick return to constitutional order,” said Kadre Desire Ouedraogo, president of the Ecowas commission. His comments followed a special meeting in Abidjan.

“Mali needs to see the immediate return of the normal functioning of its democratic institution,” Ouattara said. “President Amadou Toumani Toure is alive, he is in good health.”

The delegation will include Benin President Thomas Boni Yayi, Burkina Faso President Blaise Comparoe, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Niger President Mahamadou Issoufou and Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan.

To contact the reporter on this story: Olivier Monnier in Abidjan at omonnier@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Emily Bowers at ebowers1@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.