Sri Lanka Wins Toss, Bats First Against England in Series Opener

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and chose to bat first against England in their series-opening cricket Test in Galle.

All-rounder Samit Patel will make his Test debut for top- ranked England, which is seeking to rebound from a 3-0 sweep of Test losses against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates in January and February. Sri Lanka is without a Test series win since August 2009.

SRI LANKA: Lahiru Thirimanne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Prasanna Jayawardene, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Chanaka Welegedera.

ENGLAND: Andrew Strauss (captain), Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Matt Prior, Samit Patel, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Monty Panesar.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Dan Baynes at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.