Patrick Ewing, Willis Reed in College Basketball’s 2012 Hall of Fame Class

Patrick Ewing, who led Georgetown University to college basketball’s championship game in three of his four seasons, heads this year’s class of inductees into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Ewing, 49, will be among the 10 new members enshrined in the Kansas City, Missouri, Hall of Fame on Nov. 18. A three-time All-American, Ewing is Georgetown’s leader in blocked shots, rebounds and games played, and led the Hoyas to a national championship in 1984.

The 7-foot Ewing, who after college played 15 National Basketball Association seasons in New York, will be joined in this year’s class by former Knicks Willis Reed of Grambling University and Earl “The Pearl” Monroe of Winston-Salem State. Reed averaged 26.6 points and 21.3 rebounds as a senior at Grambling, while Monroe averaged 41.5 points a game in leading Winston-Salem to a Division II title in 1967.

Other players in the Class of 2012 include the University of Kansas’s Clyde Lovellette, North Carolina’s Phil Ford and Wyoming’s Kenny Sailors, who has been credited with introducing the jump shot. Former Kentucky coach Joe B. Hall, who led the Wildcats to a championship while following Adolph Rupp, will also be inducted along with Dave Robbins, who won 713 games as coach at Virginia Union.

Jim Host, the founder of Host Communications, and Joe Dean, a former marketing executive with the Converse Rubber Co. and college basketball television analyst, will enter the Hall of Fame as contributors.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.