Baseball Playoffs to Expand to 10 Teams by Adding Two Wildcards, Fox Says

Major League Baseball’s playoffs will expand to 10 teams from eight starting this season, Fox Sports reported citing unidentified baseball officials.

An announcement on the expanded playoffs may come today, though there are a few details to resolve, Fox Sports said. Under the new format, five teams from each league would make the postseason instead of four.

An extra tier of playoffs had been agreed on as part of baseball’s labor contract approved in December.

This season’s schedule was already set when the new collective bargaining agreement was completed and adjustments probably would be needed to incorporate the extra playoff games, Fox Sports said. It also hasn’t been determined which networks would televise the games, Fox Sports said.

The three division winners in each league would get a first-round bye, while the two non-division winners with the best records would meet in a one-game playoff to decide the wild card. That team would advance to play the division winner with the best record, unless the teams are in the same division.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.