Gulf Arab States to Start Customs Union 2015, SPA Says

(Corrects headline to clarify year)

The six-nation Gulf Cooperation Council will start implementing a regional customs union on Jan. 1, 2015, the Saudi Press Agency reported, citing GCC Secretary- General Abdel Latif al-Zayyani.

The GCC is a political and economic alliance that includes Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain and Oman.

To contact the reporter on this story: Mourad Haroutunian in Riyadh at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Shaji Mathew at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.