France Captain Thierry Dusautoir Named Rugby Player of the Year by IRB

France captain Thierry Dusautoir was named the International Rugby Board player of the year after leading his team to the World Cup final.

Dusautoir becomes the second Frenchman to win the award, after Fabien Galthie in 2002. His selection was announced by the IRB today in an e-mailed statement.

The French captain beat New Zealand scrum half Piri Weepu, flanker Jerome Kaino and center Ma’a Nonu and Australia flanker David Pocock and scrum half Will Genia. Dusautoir scored a try yesterday when France lost the World Cup final to host New Zealand, 8-7.

New Zealand, which won its second world championship yesterday, was named team of the year, and All Blacks coach Graham Henry was named coach of the year.

To contact the reporter on this story: Christopher Elser in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.