Jenkins to Captain Wales in Playoff, Faletau Covers Warburton’s Position

Wales coach Warren Gatland named the following team to play Australia in the Rugby World Cup third- place playoff on Oct. 21 at Eden Park, Auckland:

WALES: 1. Gethin Jenkins (captain), 2. Huw Bennett, 3. Paul James, 4. Bradley Davies, 5. Luke Charteris, 6. Danny Lydiate, 7. Toby Faletau, 8. Ryan Jones, 9. Mike Phillips, 10. James Hook, 11. Shane Williams, 12. Jamie Roberts, 13. Jonathan Davies, 14. George North, 15. Leigh Halfpenny.

Replacements: 16. Lloyd Burns, 17. Ryan Bevington, 18. Alun Wyn Jones, 19. Andy Powell, 20. Lloyd Williams, 21. Stephen Jones, 22. Scott Williams.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Dan Baynes at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.