Milwaukee Brewers Reach 1st NL Championship Series by Beating Diamondbacks

The Milwaukee Brewers reached their first National League Championship Series, defeating the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 in 10 innings today to win a decisive fifth game in their first-round playoff series.

Nyjer Morgan’s single knocked in the winning run for the Brewers, whose previous appearance in a league championship series came in 1982 when they were in the American League. Milwaukee moved to the NL in 1998.

The Brewers will face either the Philadelphia Phillies or the St. Louis Cardinals in the NL Championship Series. The Phillies and the Cardinals play their Game 5 tonight in Philadelphia.

The AL Championship Series is already set and starts tomorrow in Arlington, Texas. The Detroit Tigers eliminated the New York Yankees in Game 5 last night and advanced to play the Texas Rangers, who won their division series in four games against the Tampa Bay Rays.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Rob Gloster at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.