Ivory Coast’s Ouattara Keeps Finance Minister, PM Soro in New Cabinet

Ivory Coast’s president, Alassane Ouattara, named his first ministerial cabinet since taking office after a disputed election, retaining Guillaume Soro as prime minister and Charles Koffi Diby as finance minister.

Soro has held the position since 2007 when he led a power- sharing government with ex-President Laurent Gbagbo, who lost a November election to Ouattara. Soro will also serve as minister of defense in the 36-member administration, the government said in a statement distributed to reporters in the commercial capital of Abidjan today.

Both Diby and Soro were members of Ouattara’s emergency government formed during the violent post-election crisis that was sparked by Gbagbo’s refusal to cede power.

Ouattara was sworn in as president on May 21 after the five-month conflict that ended when Gbagbo was captured in Abidjan on April 11. At least 2,000 people were killed, according to the United Nations.

Patrick Achi, a spokesman for the government, will be minister of economic infrastructure and Adama Toungara was named energy minister.

To contact the reporters on this story: Olivier Monnier and Pauline Bax in Abidjan via Accra at ebowers1@bloomberg.net.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Antony Sguazzin at asguazzin@bloomberg.net.

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.