South African Stocks Slide; Aveng, JD Group, Steinhoff, SacOil Are Active

South Africa’s FTSE/JSE Africa All Share Index fell to its lowest close since Dec. 1, sliding 295.28, or 1 percent, to 30,878.58 by 5 p.m. in Johannesburg.

The following were among the most active stocks in the South African market today.

Absa Group Ltd. (ASA) , South Africa’s largest retail bank, rose for the first day in four, adding 2.62 rand, or 2.1 percent, to 129 rand. Barclays Plc Chairman Marcus Agius raised the prospect of the U.K. lender increasing its stake in Absa, Business Day reported, citing Agius. Barclays hasn’t approached South Africa’s banking regulator about increasing its stake in Absa, registrar of banks Errol Kruger said.

Aveng Ltd. (AEG) , South Africa’s largest construction company, fell the most since Feb. 1, losing 1.35 rand, or 3.7 percent, to 35.65 rand. Aveng reported a 35 percent decline in net income for the six months ended Dec. 31 and said revenue growth will be limited by “challenging” conditions in its home market.

Cie Financiere Richemont SA (CFR) fell to its lowest since Jan. 10, dropping 1.32 rand, or 3.4 percent, to 37.74 rand. The luxury goods maker may be badly hit by the effects of the earthquake in Japan quake, MF Global said.

Erbacon Investment Holdings Ltd. (ERB) , a civil engineering company, slid the most in two weeks, decreasing 10 cents, or 8 percent, to 1.15 rand, after saying it will report a fiscal full-year loss compared with a year-earlier profit.

JD Group Ltd. (JDG SJ), a South African furniture retailer, had its biggest one-day decline since May 7, losing 2.27 rand, or 4.9 percent, to 44 rand after saying it agreed to a swap of business units with furniture maker Steinhoff International Holdings Ltd. (SHF) in a transaction which will give Steinhoff a 26 percent stake in JD Group. Steinhoff retreated 3 cents, or 0.1 percent, to 24 rand.

SacOil Holdings Ltd. (SCL SJ), an oil and natural gas exploration company, dropped for the third day, losing 18 cents, or 8.1 percent, to 2.04 rand. SacOil denied a complaint by shareholder Kevin van der Walt that it published incorrect or misleading information related to the sale of a 60 percent stake in an oil block in the Democratic Republic of Congo to Total SA.

Uranium One Inc. (UUU) , the producer of the uranium mineral used to make nuclear fuel, fell the most in almost two years, dropping 9.96 rand, or 24 percent, to 31.60 rand. Australian uranium producers and explorers also slumped on concern demand for nuclear energy will decline as Japan worked to prevent a meltdown at reactors damaged by last week’s earthquake and tsunami. First Uranium Corp. (FIU) , a Toronto- based company that also mines gold, declined the most since Feb. 23, losing 43 cents, or 6.2 percent, to 6.52 rand. An accident suspended production at its Ezulwini mine in South Africa, the company said.

To contact the reporters on this story: Vernon Wessels in Johannesburg at vwessels@bloomberg.net; Carli Lourens in Johannesburg at clourens@bloomberg.net; Robert Brand in Cape Town at rbrand9@bloomberg.net.

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Riad Hamade at rhamade@bloomberg.net; Amanda Jordan at ajordan11@bloomberg.net; Gavin Serkin at +44-20-7673-2467 or gserkin@bloomberg.net.

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.