England Gets Final-Ball Victory Over Australia to Set Twenty20 Win Record

England defeated Australia by one wicket to set a record of eight Twenty20 cricket wins in a row as Eoin Morgan’s 43 runs from 33 balls boosted the visitors in Adelaide.

Chris Woakes, making his debut, scored the winning run with a single on the final ball of the allotted 20 overs to take England to 158-9 after Australia scored 157-4. Kevin Pietersen got 25 runs off 11 balls for the victors.

Shane Watson, who scored 59 runs off 31 balls for the home side, also took four wickets. He bowled Graeme Swann at the start of the last over, leaving the visitors needing four runs from the last five balls. Ajmal Shahzad faced three, and was able to get off strike when Watson bowled a leg bye. Woakes then got two on a shot to deep point to tie the score before his single won the match. He finished on 19 from 15 deliveries.

Australia had won the toss and decided to bat. Watson, who had 6 fours and 3 sixes, was bowled by Michael Yardy, who also dismissed the other opener David Warner. Aaron Finch and Steven Smith were on 15 not out when the innings ended.

The teams next meet in Melbourne on Jan. 14 to finish the two-match series.

To contact the reporter on this story: Christopher Elser in London at celser@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser in London at celser@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.