Australia Selects 23-Man Squad for Next Month's Asian Cup Soccer in Qatar

Australia soccer coach Holger Osieck named the following 23-man squad for the 2011 Asian Cup in Qatar next month.

The Socceroos, Asia’s top team at No. 26 in FIFA’s world rankings, open their campaign Jan. 10 against India before facing South Korea and Bahrain in their other Group C matches.

SOCCEROOS SQUAD: Nathan Burns, Tim Cahill, David Carney, Nathan Coe, Jason Culina, Brett Emerton, Richard Garcia, Brett Holman, Mile Jedinak, Brad Jones, Harry Kewell, Neil Kilkenny, Robbie Kruse, Scott McDonald, Jon McKain, Matt McKay, Lucas Neill, Jade North, Sasa Ognenovski, Mark Schwarzer, Matthew Spiranovic, Carl Valeri, Luke Wilkshire.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Dan Baynes at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.