England Adds Woakes, Wright, Yardy to Twenty20 Squad Against Australia

England named Chris Woakes, Craig Kieswetter, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy and James Tredwell to the Twenty20 cricket squad that will take on Australia starting Jan. 12.

The team will be led by Paul Collingwood for the two-match series, England said today in an e-mailed statement. Woakes hasn’t played for the team previously, and will get a chance to replace Stuart Broad, who left Australia after tearing a stomach muscle.

Andrew Strauss will be captain of England’s One-Day International squad in the seven-match series.

England T20 and ODI squad:

1. Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) - (ODI Captain) (ODI squad only)
2. Paul Collingwood (Durham) - (T20 Captain)
3. James Anderson (Lancashire)
4. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
5. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
6. Steven Davies (Surrey)
7. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
8. Craig Kieswetter (Somerset) – (T20 squad only)
9. Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
10. Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
11. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
12. James Tredwell (Kent)
13. Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
14. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)      
15. Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
16. Luke Wright (Sussex)
17. Michael Yardy (Sussex)

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Chris Elser at celser@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.