Harvard, Stanford, University of Chicago Win Most U.S. Rhodes Scholarships

Harvard University, Stanford University and the University of Chicago each had three students awarded Rhodes Scholarships, more than any other institutions, as the 32 U.S. recipients of the award were named today.

Other schools with multiple winners were Princeton University and Yale University, according to a statement from the Office of the American Secretary of the Rhodes Trust.

The Rhodes Scholarships were established in 1902 in the will of Cecil Rhodes, a British mine operator and explorer who founded what is now the Johannesburg-based De Beers Group. Rhodes Scholarships fund two or three years of study at the University of Oxford in the U.K. and are awarded based on academic achievement, integrity of character, physical vigor and potential for leadership, in accordance with Rhodes’s will.

Among the winners on the 2011 list was Harvard’s Baltazar Zavala, a player on the Crimson football team, who yesterday found a congratulatory text-message on his cell phone after a game with Ivy League rival Yale, the Associated Press reported. Harvard won the 127th annual contest, 28-21.

“I can’t think of a better day,” the AP cited Zavala as saying.

More than 3,200 U.S. citizens have won Rhodes Scholarships since the program’s inception. Past winners include former President Bill Clinton, former U.S. Senator Bill Bradley of New Jersey, Susan Rice, U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations, and Rachel Maddow, who hosts “The Rachel Maddow Show” on MSNBC.

Harvard, Yale

The Ivy League again dominated this year’s awards in the U.S. Harvard, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, has produced the most Rhodes Scholars of any American institution with 328 prior to this year. Yale, in New Haven, Connecticut, has 219, and Princeton, in Princeton, New Jersey, turned out 193.

The winners are Anna Alekseyeva, Chicago; Caroline Barlow, the U.S. Naval Academy; Alice Baumgartner, Yale; Megan Braun, the University of California at Irvine; Tamma Carleton, Lewis and Clark College; Nicholas DiBerardino, Princeton; Jared Dunnmon, Duke University; Gabrielle Emanuel, Dartmouth College; Zachary Frankel, Harvard; Kathleen Hansen, Montana State University; Fagan Harris, Stanford; Mark Jia, Princeton; Daniel Lage, Harvard; Jennifer Lai, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Andrew Lanham, Haverford College; Ye jin Kang, Rice University; Prerna Nadathur, Chicago; Laura Nelson, University of Virginia; Renugan Raidoo, University of Iowa; Fatima Sabar, Stanford; John Scotti, Chicago; Varun Sivaram, Stanford; Aakash Shah, Ursinus College; Paul Shorkey, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Priya Sury, Washington University; Sarah Swenson, University of Oklahoma; Zujaja Tauqeer, Brooklyn College; Esther Uduehi, Indiana University at Bloomington; Matthew Watters, University of Delaware; Tracy Yang, University of Georgia; Baltazar Zavala, Harvard; and William Zeng, Yale.

The 32 Rhodes scholars from the U.S. will join an international group from 14 other countries and territories around the world. About 80 scholars are selected worldwide each year.

To contact the reporter on this story: Oliver Staley in New York at ostaley@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Jonathan Kaufman at jkaufman17@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.