Cincinnati Reds Lead NL With Three Gold Gloves; Pujols, Tulowitzki Picked

The Cincinnati Reds led the National League with three Gold Glove winners, topped by the eighth award for third baseman Scott Rolen.

Teammates joining Rolen on the squad were second baseman Brandon Phillips and pitcher Bronson Arroyo. Phillips won his second Gold Glove, while Arroyo was honored for the first time.

The St. Louis Cardinals and Colorado Rockies each had two players named the best at their defensive positions in voting by Major League Baseball managers and coaches, Jarden Corp.’s Rawlings, which sponsors the award, said in a news release.

St. Louis first baseman Albert Pujols won his second Gold Glove and teammate Yadier Molina, a catcher, was named for the third time.

Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and outfielder Carlos Gonzalez each won their first Gold Gloves.

The NL’s Gold Glove outfield was completed by the Philadelphia Phillies’ Shane Victorino, his third such honor, and the Houston Astros’ Michael Bourn, who was named for the second straight season.

To contact the reporter on this story: Mason Levinson in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.