India Batsman Sachin Tendulkar Named Cricket Player of Year by Ruling Body

India batsman Sachin Tendulkar was named the International Cricket Council’s Player of the Year.

Tendulkar, 37, scored 1,064 runs in 10 Test matches for an average of 81.84. He also played in 17 one-day internationals, hitting 914 runs at an average of 65.28, and became the first player to score an innings of 200, in February against South Africa.

India’s Virender Sehwag, South Africa’s Hashim Amla and England’s Graeme Swann were the other finalists for the honor, which was announced at an ICC ceremony in Bangalore, India, and based on the period between Aug. 24, 2009, and Aug. 10, 2010.

Tendulkar also won the People’s Choice Award, while Sehwag was named Test Player of the Year. England’s Steven Finn won the emerging player honor for those under the age of 26, with AB de Villiers of South Africa named one-day player of the year.

All four nominees for top player were chosen to the Test team of the year, which is captained by India’s MS Dhoni. Australia’s Simon Katich and Doug Bollinger, South Africa’s Jacques Kallis and Dale Steyn, England’s James Anderson and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara round out the squad.

Tendulkar, Dhoni, Bollinger, and De Villiers were also named to the one-day team of the year, captained by Australia’s Ricky Ponting. Australia’s Shane Watson, Michael Hussey, and Ryan Harris; England’s Paul Collingwood and Stuart Broad; and New Zealand’s Daniel Vettori were also named.

To contact the reporter on this story: Bob Bensch in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.