Japan Beats Hawaii 4-1 to Win Little League Baseball World Series Title

A team from Japan ended a five-year run of Little League World Series baseball titles for the U.S. by beating Waipahu, Hawaii, 4-1 in the championship game.

Konan Tomori hit a home run and drove in three runs yesterday at Howard J. Lamade Stadium in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, as the Edogawa Minami All-Stars from Tokyo gave Japan its first title since 2003.

The last non-U.S. team to win the Little League World Series for 11- and 12-year-olds was Willemstad, Curacao, in 2004. Hawaii had won two of the previous five titles, including a victory by the Waipio Little League in Waipahu in 2008.

Japan led 2-1 yesterday when Tomori hit a two-run homer in the top of the sixth inning. Tomori had a run-scoring single with two outs in the fourth inning that put Japan up 2-0.

Hawaii got its lone run in the bottom of the fourth when Brysen Yoshii singled and scored on a throwing error.

Japan’s pitchers, Ryusuke Ikeda and Ichiro Ogasawara, combined to limit Hawaii to four hits and one run over six innings. Ogasawara didn’t allow a hit to the U.S. champion over the final three innings.

Japan beat Taiwan 3-2 to win the international title and reach the World Series championship game for the first time since 2007, when a team from Kitasuna Little League in Tokyo lost 3-2 to Warner Robins, Georgia.

Japan last won the Little League World Series in 2003, when the Musashi Fuchu All-Stars from Tokyo beat Boynton Beach, Florida, 10-1. Japan didn’t allow more than two runs in any of its games on its way to this year’s title.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at matuszewski@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.