Australian Vote Count: Labor, Coalition Split Vote With 60 Seats Each

Julia Gillard’s ruling Labor Party has won 60 seats in the House of Representatives. Tony Abbott’s Liberal-National coalition has won 60 seats, the Australian Electoral Commission said on its website. The party with the majority of the 150 seats forms government. Some 76 percent of the total vote has been counted as of 20 minutes after midnight Sydney time.

          Labor   Lib-National    Independent     The Greens      Undecided
             60             60              3              1             26

Source: Australian Electoral Commission

To contact the reporter on this story: Daniel Petrie in Sydney at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.