Obama Picks Five Members for Panel Investigating BP's Gulf of Mexico Spill

President Barack Obama named five people to a commission to investigate the BP Plc oil spill, completing a panel charged with determining the causes of the accident and recommending ways to prevent another such disaster.

The five are Cherry A. Murray, dean of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Frances Beinecke, president of the non-profit Natural Resources Defense Council; Donald Boesch, president of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science; Terry D. Garcia, vice president for mission programs at the National Geographic Society; and Frances Ulmer, chancellor of the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Obama previously named Democrat Bob Graham, a former U.S. senator and Florida governor, and Republican William Reilly, a former Environmental Protection Agency administrator, to lead the commission.

The president directed the panel to issue a report before the end of the year.

To contact the reporter on this story: Joe Sobczyk in Washington at jsobczyk@bloomberg.net;

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.