Australia Names Expanded 31-Man Preliminary Squad for Soccer World Cup

Australia named an expanded provisional soccer World Cup squad to give coach Pim Verbeek more flexibility for his final selection because of injuries.

Verbeek today announced a 31-man roster for the 32-team event in South Africa, four more than initially planned, with players including Harry Kewell, Mark Bresciano and Brett Emerton carrying injuries. Goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic will only come into the final squad if another goalie gets injured.

The squad must be cut to 23 by June 1, 12 days before the Socceroos open their World Cup campaign against Germany in Durban. They’ll also face Ghana and Serbia in group play.

Tommy Oar, an 18-year-old winger who made his debut against Indonesia in February, was among the selections.

SOCCEROOS SQUAD: Michael Beauchamp, Mark Bresciano, Tim Cahill, Nick Carle, David Carney, Scott Chipperfield, Jason Culina, Brett Emerton, Adam Federici, Eugene Galekovic, Richard Garcia, Vince Grella, James Holland, Brett Holman, Mile Jedinak, Brad Jones, Josh Kennedy, Harry Kewell, Shane Lowry, Scott McDonald, Mark Milligan, Craig Moore, Lucas Neill, Jade North, Tommy Oar, Nikita Rukavytsya, Mark Schwarzer, Carl Valeri, Dario Vidosic, Luke Wilkshire, Rhys Williams.

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.