New Zealand Names 23-Man Soccer World Cup Squad; Nelsen Will Captain Team

New Zealand soccer coach Ricki Herbert named seven Europe-based players including captain Ryan Nelsen in his 23-man squad for the World Cup in South Africa.

New Zealand is grouped with defending champion Italy, Paraguay and Slovakia in its first appearance since making its tournament debut in 1982. The All Whites’ open their campaign June 15 against Slovakia.

The 32 qualified teams have until midnight Zurich time tomorrow to provide world governing body FIFA with a list of up to 30 players. That list must be cut to 23 players by midnight June 1.

NEW ZEALAND SQUAD: James Bannatyne - Team Wellington Andy Barron - Team Wellington Leo Bertos - Wellington Phoenix Andy Boyens - New York Red Bulls Jeremy Brockie - Newcastle Jets Tim Brown - Wellington Phoenix (vice captain) Jeremy Christie - FC Tampa Bay Rowdies Aaron Clapham - Canterbury United Simon Elliott - unattached Rory Fallon - Plymouth Argyle Chris Killen - Middlesbrough Tony Lochhead - Wellington Phoenix Michael McGlinchey - Motherwell Glen Moss - Melbourne Victory David Mulligan - unattached Ryan Nelsen - Blackburn Rovers (captain) Mark Paston - Wellington Phoenix Winston Reid - FC Midtjylland (Denmark) Ben Sigmund - Wellington Phoenix Shane Smeltz - Gold Coast United Tommy Smith - Ipswich Town Ivan Vicelich - Auckland City Chris Wood - West Bromwich Albion

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.