The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by iStockphoto/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
9 of 54

Tennessee (8)

Filing fee: $301.50

Minimum processing time: 60 days

Divorce rate: 11.5

The grounds for a fault divorce in Tennessee include: "Either party has attempted the life of the other, by poison or any other means showing malice." Murder will qualify, while conviction of most lesser crimes is insufficient grounds for divorce, unless the conviction renders the person "infamous." Perhaps the high cost -- $301.50 -- is driven by the difficulty of getting through the law books.

Advertisement