The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by John Foxx/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
7 of 54

Nevada (6)

Filing fee: $289

Minimum processing time: 42 days

Divorce rate: 12.3

If you seek a quick no-fault divorce, the state has the nation's third-fastest processing time. "Nevada doesn't mind being known as a divorce mill," said Harry Gruener, head of the Family Law Clinic at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. "Other states do."

Advertisement