The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by iStockphoto/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
33 of 54

Virginia (32)

Filing fee: $84

Minimum processing time: 180 days

Divorce rate: 9.6

Grounds for a fault divorce in Virginia include "adultery; or for sodomy or buggery committed outside the marriage." (The Commonwealth keeps some very old laws on the books.) Those who want to divorce face six months of mandated separation, with no cohabitation allowed. The median age at the first marriage is 27.3 and marriages tend to last 20.5 years.

Advertisement