The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by George Frey/Bloomberg

Company Symbol % Change
30 of 54

Utah (29)

Filing fee: $310

Minimum processing time: 180 days

Divorce rate: 10.5

Utah has a high marriage rate and the country's second-youngest median age at first marriage, at 24.9 years. Utah is also one of seven states with a law that allows an irate spouse to sue a mate's lover.

Advertisement