The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by iStockphoto/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
29 of 54

Delaware (28)

Filing fee: $150

Minimum processing time: 180 days

Divorce rate: 8.8

During Delaware's mandated six-month separation time before a divorce can be obtained, a couple must live in different bedrooms if they dwell together. Sex is only allowed, according to state law, during "efforts to achieve reconciliation."

Advertisement