The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by Brand X Pictures/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
22 of 54

Hawaii (21)

Filing fee: $175

Minimum processing time: 210 days

Divorce rate: 8.1

Hawaii is one of seven states with a law granting residents the right to sue the lover of an unfaithful spouse for damages. The state's median age of first marriage is 28 and 8.1 out of every 1,000 residents get divorced every year.

Advertisement