The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by iStockphoto/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
17 of 54

New Mexico (16)

Filing fee: $137

Minimum processing time: 180 days

Divorce rate: 10.2

Calling the issue "alienation of affection," New Mexico is one of seven states that explicitly gives residents the right to sue someone who has an affair with their spouse. Once common, the law has been abolished in most states.

Advertisement