Bloomberg the Company

Bloomberg Anywhere Login

Bloomberg

Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.

Company

Financial Products

Enterprise Products

Media

Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000

Follow Us

Industry Products

The Best and Worst States for Getting Divorced

By Joel Stonington and Alex McIntyre - 2011-11-14T16:21:49Z

Photograph by Hemera/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
13 of 54

Connecticut (12)

Filing fee: $225

Minimum processing time: 90 days

Divorce rate: 8.7

It's sort of like common law marriage, with divorce. In Connecticut, you have to wait seven years, "during all of which period the absent party has not been heard from," before being granted dissolution of marriage to satisfy an abandonment cause for a fault divorce. Residency is required to get a divorce, although there is no minimum residency if cause for the divorce happened within Connecticut's borders.

Advertisement