The Real Cost of Selling Your Home

By Carla Fried - 2013-06-12T20:51:17Z

Photograph by Francis Cormon

Company Symbol % Change
9 of 15

Transfer Tax

Thirty-seven states and the District of Columbia charge a fee to transfer the deed from buyer to seller, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures. There can also be county and municipal fees. It’s more common for the seller to pay the tax, though in states such as Maine, Nevada and Utah it’s a split cost. In states where the seller pays, the transfer tax rate ranges from 0.1 percent (Kentucky) to north of 2 percent in New Jersey, New York City (combined state and city) and Washington State.