HbbTV Announces New Steering Group Members - Sets Sights on Continuing to Build HbbTV Success on Global Basis

HbbTV Announces New Steering Group Members - Sets Sights on Continuing to 
Build HbbTV Success on Global Basis 
GENEVA, Switzerland, May 13, 2014 /CNW/ - The HbbTV Association, a global 
initiative dedicated to providing an open standard for the delivery of 
broadcast and broadband services through connected TVs and set-top boxes, 
today announced the results of its recent Steering Group elections.  As part 
of this, the new Steering Group re-elected Klaus Illgner as Chairman, Jon 
Piesing as Vice-Chairman and Mark Londero as Treasurer.  Over the upcoming two 
year term, the HbbTV Steering Group will be focused on further extending the 
consumer benefits of hybrid broadcast TV, ensuring continued capabilities to 
support new HbbTV services and promoting its wider adoption across the world. 
"HbbTV has continued to grow rapidly over the last 12 months and the standard 
is now deployed on a global scale. We continue to see a very healthy interest 
across the world to adopt HbbTV services and build new applications" stated 
Klaus Ilgner, chair, HbbTV Association. "Our new Steering Group has the 
experience, vision and determination to take broadcast TV services to the next 
level. We look forward to continue our work with HbbTV members, other 
standards organizations, regulatory organizations and national TV bodies to 
help us continue bringing new interactive broadcast TV to consumers across the 
HbbTV has gained strong market traction in Europe over the last several years 
and is now beginning to gain adoption internationally.  The new Steering Group 
aims to build on this success and focus on several key initiatives to advance 
the HbbTV standard including:   

        --  Maintaining strong working relationships with other industry
            consortia such as DASH-Industry Forum, DVB, EBU, UPnP, W3C,
            ATSC, IPTV Forum Japan and DLNA to incorporate their
            capabilities into HbbTV specifications;
        --  Liaising with national TV bodies such as AEDETI, HD-Forum
            France, DTG UK, NorDig, Hybridcast, HbbTV Forum NL and other
        --  Continuing to define and extend the capabilities of HbbTV to
            meet consumer needs including the HbTV 2.0 specification which
            will add new features including HTML5, HEVC and companion
            screen interaction;
        --  Continuing to operate the organization with focused sub-groups
            -  including testing, technical specifications, certification, 
            marketing - each with mandates to implement goals approved by
            the steering group

The newly elected Steering Group includes the following members:
        --  Andy Hickman, Digital TV Labs
        --  Bernard Fontaine, France Télévisions
        --  Frode Hernes, Opera Software
        --  Henry Rivero, RTL Group SA
        --  Jon Piesing, TP Vision
        --  John Adam, Samsung Electronics
        --  Klaus Illgner-Fehns, IRT 
        --  Mark Londero, Sony Europe 
        --  Nilo Mitra, Ericsson
        --  Nicolai Leymann, Deutsche Telekom 
        --  Peter MacAvock, EBU 
        --  Régis Saint Girons, httv 
        --  Rob Koenen, TNO 
        --  Steven Morris, Espial 
        --  Stuart Savage, LG Electronics
        --  Xavier Redon, Abertis Teleco

For further information about the HbbTV Association visit: 

About HbbTV Association (www.hbbtv.org)

Hybrid Broadcast Broadband TV (or "HbbTV") is a major global initiative aimed 
at harmonising the broadcast and broadband delivery of entertainment services 
to the end consumer through connected TVs and set‐top boxes. The HbbTV 
specification was developed by industry leaders to effectively manage the 
rapidly increasing amount of available content targeted at today's end 
consumer. It is based on elements of existing specifications including OIPF 
(Open IPTV Forum), CEA, DVB, and W3C.

HbbTV Association Contacts:  Kirk Edwardson and Régis Saint Girons 
Co-Chairs, HbbTV Marketing Group Email:press@hbbtv.org  
To view this news release in HTML formatting, please use the following URL: 
ST: Ontario
-0- May/13/2014 09:00 GMT
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.