UVIG Announces 2014 Technical Achievement Honorees, Scholarship Recipients

  UVIG Announces 2014 Technical Achievement Honorees, Scholarship Recipients  Honors industry leaders for contributions, awards funds to students to further their education  Business Wire  RESTON, Va. -- April 24, 2014  The Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group (UVIG) announced Mark Ahlstrom of WindLogics, Melinda Marquis of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Brad Reeve of Kotzebue Electric Association, Nick Brown of SPP, Ken Schuyler of PJM Interconnection, Gene Hinkle and Bahman Daryanian of GE Energy Consulting, and Paul Bonavia of Tucson Electric Power/UNS Energy as recipients of its 2014 Annual Achievement Awards.  UVIG President Steve Beuning will present the awards and recognize recipients of the 2014 UVIG Academic Scholarships at a reception during its 2014 UVIG Spring Technical Workshop and Annual Meeting to be held in Anchorage, Alaska May 20-22.  The citation for the award to Ahlstrom, the CEO of WindLogics notes “… sustained leadership in and contributions to understanding the intersection of variable generation forecasting, power system integration, and market design and operation.”  The citation for the award to Marquis, who works at NOAA’s Earth System Research Laboratory notes “…sustained leadership in and contributions to raising the priority of wind energy forecasting work on the NOAA agenda, bringing the perspective of the meteorological research community to wind integration projects, and developing a better understanding of variable generation forecasting requirements.”  The citation for the award to Reeve, the General Manager of Kotzebue Electric Association, notes “…sustained local, state, national and international leadership in the integration of renewable energy into village power systems.”  The citation for the award to Brown, President of SPP, notes “…sustained leadership in market design and operation in SPP and the successful launch of their energy and ancillary service markets providing greater flexibility for the integration of VG.”  The citation for the award to Schuyler, Hinkle, and Daryanian recognizes them “for expanding the knowledge of variable generation integration study modeling and methodology and gaining new insights into power system behavior through the PJM VG Integration Study.”  The citation for the award to Bonavia, who is retiring as president of Tucson Electric, recognizes his “visionary leadership at Xcel Energy and Tucson Electric Power in advancing the integration of wind and solar power into electric utility systems.”  According to UVIG’s Beuning, this year’s slate of honorees reflects the core missions for the organization: “All of these recipients have provided leadership and extended the science and understanding of integrating wind and solar generation into utility power systems. Not only has there been an expansion of the state of the art of how to integrate variable generation, but there has been significant work undertaken in understanding application of variable generation in a variety of utility operating environments and business models. As President of UVIG, it gives me great pleasure to announce these awards and to congratulate the recipients.”  In addition, the organization announced that Armando Gurrola of Texas State College, Spencer Hill of Redstone College, Zachary Lee of John Brown University, Samantha McPeak of the University of Alabama and Derek Meiman of St. Cloud State University/University of Minnesota are the recipients of the 2014 UVIG Academic Scholarships. Gurrola and Hill will receive $1,000 VG plant technician scholarships while Lee, McPeak, and Meiman will receive $2,000 engineering scholarships. Beuning hailed the three as “outstanding students who are poised to make a difference in their areas of study.”  The Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group, previously known as the Utility Wind Integration Group (UWIG), was established in 1989 to provide a forum for the critical analysis of wind and solar technology for utility applications and to serve as a source of credible information on the status of wind and solar technology and deployment. The group’s mission is to accelerate the development and application of good engineering and operational practices supporting the appropriate integration of variable generation for utility applications through the coordinated efforts and actions of its members, in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Energy, its National Renewable Energy Laboratory and utility research organizations. UVIG currently has over 175 members from the United States, Canada, Europe, and Asia, including investor-owned, public power, and rural electric cooperative utilities; transmission system operators; and associate member corporate, government, and academic organizations. For more information, visit the UVIG web site at www.variablegen.org.  Contact:  Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group Sandy Smith, 865-218-4600, ext. 6141 Conference and Communications Coordinator sandy@variablegen.org  
Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.